Our School - Australian Curriculum


Para Vista is part of a national approach to education through developing and implementing a robust and comprehensive national curriculum.

Through the Australian Curriculum Para Vista sets consistent high standards for what all young Australians should learn as they progress through schooling. It prepares Australia’s next generation for the future and lays the building blocks for generations to come.

The Australian Curriculum focuses on learning area content and achievement standards that describe what students will learn and teachers will teach. It also gives attention to seven general capabilities that are important for life and work in the 21st century. The general capabilities and the cross-curriculum priorities are not added as additional subjects. They are dealt with, where relevant, through the learning area content on which the curriculum is built.


Learning areas

The Australian Curriculum has eight learning areas. Some learning areas include more than one subject.


The English curriculum is built around the three interrelated strands of Language, Literature and Literacy. Teaching and learning programs should balance and integrate all three strands. Together the three strands focus on developing students’ knowledge, understanding and skills in listening, reading, viewing, speaking, writing and creating. Learning in English builds on concepts, skills.


The Mathematics curriculum has 4 proficiency strands Understanding, Fluency, Problem Solving and Reasoning which are an integral part of mathematics content across the three content strands: Number and AlgebraMeasurement and Geometry, and Statistics and Probability.


The Science content includes the three strands of Science UnderstandingScience Inquiry Skills and Science as a Human Endeavour. The three strands of the curriculum are interrelated and their content is taught in an integrated way.


The Humanities and Social Sciences ( HASS) curriculum is the study of human behaviour and interaction in social, cultural, environmental, economic and political contexts. The humanities and social sciences have a historical and contemporary focus, from personal to global contexts, and consider challenges for the future. The HASS learning area comprises four subjects: History, Geography, Economics and Business, Civics and Citizenship.


The Arts Curriculum is a learning area that draws together related but distinct art forms. While these art forms have close relationships and are often used in interrelated ways, each involves different approaches to arts practices and critical and creative thinking that reflect distinct bodies of knowledge, understanding and skills. The Arts curriculum consists of five subjects: Dance, Drama, Media Arts, Music and Visual Arts.


The Technologies Curriculum develops the skills to support students to make discerning decisions about the development and use of technologies and who can independently and collaboratively develop solutions to complex challenges and contribute to sustainable patterns of living.  The technologies can be described in two distinct but related subjects: Design and Technologies and Digital Technologies


Health and PE Curriculum provides the basis for developing knowledge, understanding and skills for students to lead healthy, safe and active lives.


Language Curriculum is designed to enable all students to engage in learning a language in addition to English. Para Vista is delivering Indonesian lessons to all students from R-7


General capabilities and cross-curriculum priorities

General capabilities are a key dimension of the Australian Curriculum. They encompass knowledge, skills, behaviours and dispositions that, together with curriculum content in each learning area will assist students to live and work successfully in the twenty-first century.

The Australian Curriculum includes seven general capabilities. These are:

  • Literacy
  • Numeracy
  • Information and communication technology capability
  • Critical and creative thinking
  • Personal and social capability
  • Ethical understanding
  • Intercultural understanding.

The three Cross-curriculum Priorities are Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander histories and cultures, Asia and Australia’s engagement with Asia, and sustainability.